Exceptional Ticket Defense
  1. Home
  2.  → 
  3. Traffic Violations
  4.  → Reckless driving: Fines and penalties

Reckless driving: Fines and penalties

On Behalf of | Oct 13, 2021 | Traffic Violations

Reckless driving is a crime that can lead to serious penalties in Florida. According to the Florida Statutes, reckless driving occurs when someone drives a vehicle in wanton or willful disregard of others’ safety or property. It’s also possible to be convicted of reckless driving if you choose to flee a law enforcement officer in your vehicle.

The penalties for reckless driving are serious. Even a first offense may lead to time in prison and heavy fines.

The penalties for reckless driving in Florida

A first offense violation for reckless driving may result in:

  • No less than $25 or more than $500 in fines
  • Up to 90 days imprisonment

If this is not your first offense, then you could face additional penalties such as:

  • Fines of between $50 and $1,000
  • Imprisonment for up to six months

If the court believes that alcohol, drugs or other substances played a role in the collision or reckless behaviors, then it is possible that you will need to complete a DUI program and substance abuse education course upon conviction.

The state penalties are just a part of the penalties that you could face. You should remember that anyone you hurt could pursue a personal injury lawsuit against you. You could also face a lawsuit if you damage another person’s property.

Is reckless driving a misdemeanor or felony?

Reckless driving is either a misdemeanor or felony depending on the circumstances. Someone who damages property but who doesn’t cause harm to others will normally be charged with a misdemeanor offense. Comparatively, someone who causes serious bodily injuries will be charged with a third-degree felony.

Can you lose your license if you’re convicted of reckless driving?

It is possible that you could lose your right to drive if you’re convicted of reckless driving. You should be compliant with the court order if you’re convicted. Remember that you have a right to defend yourself even if you’re already facing charges, though. It’s important to look into your legal options to determine the best defenses based on the circumstances. A good defense could help you avoid some or all of the penalties you face.