To legally drive in Florida, you need to have a driver’s license at the very least. If you have your own vehicle, you have to obtain liability insurance and register the vehicle with the state. Getting pulled over while driving without being in compliance with state law can lead to serious penalties.
Driving with a suspended license, in particular, might result in criminal charges, big fines and even jail time. You could face the suspension of your license for issues ranging from previous traffic infractions to family court enforcement efforts.
What are the potential consequences of driving on a suspended license in Florida?
Florida applies harsh consequences to this traffic offense
The penalties and charges someone faces will depend on their prior record. If someone can convince the courts that they didn’t know about the suspension, they could face a civil infraction rather than criminal charges.
The first time the state charges someone with driving on a suspended license, it will be a second-degree misdemeanor, but the charges increase to a first-degree misdemeanor for a second offense. A third offense will result in felony charges and a minimum mandatory sentence of 10 days in jail.
The penalties depend on someone’s record as well. A first offense will mean up to $500 in fines and possibly up to 60 days in jail. A second offense doubles the maximum fine to $1,000 and increases the possible sentence to up to 364 days. Forcible felonies on someone’s record may increase the penalties they face.