Exceptional Ticket Defense

What can happen if you drive on a suspended license in Florida?

On Behalf of | Feb 17, 2022 | Suspended License Issues

Drivers in Florida are required to follow the state’s traffic laws. Failing to comply with these can lead to citations. This state uses a graduated system for determining when a person’s driver’s license should be suspended.

Besides the accumulation of points, there are other factors that can lead to a suspension. We discussed a few of them here recently. Some others include things like being delinquent on child support payments, failure to pay a fine or being involved in a crash that causes bodily injury or death.

Driving on a suspended license in this state comes with the possibility of time in jail. On a first offense, you’ll face a second-degree misdemeanor. You may be fined up to $500 and have to serve up to 60 days in jail. On a second offense, you’re facing a third-degree felony that comes with a fine of up to $5,000 and up to five years in prison. Receiving three convictions in five years can result in a revocation of your license for five years.

Are there any options if you need to continue driving?

Once your driver’s license is suspended, you can’t legally drive. It’s possible for some people to get a hardship license that enables them to drive to school and work. The Bureau of Administrative Reviews handles these applications. Without the hardship license, you have to wait out the entire length of your suspension and go through the process for reinstating your driver’s license before you can legally drive again.

If your license is suspended, it’s crucial to determine your options for addressing this charge so you can make decisions that are in your best interests. Having legal guidance as you do this is wise.