Although Florida may not be the strictest state in the Union when it comes to driving under the influence (DUI), it does treat the decision to drive while one’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over the legal limit while a minor passenger is in the car seriously.
For example, ordinarily, if someone is convicted of a first-time DUI offense, they’ll risk a fine of up to $1,000 and a jail sentence not to exceed six months. However, if a first-time DUI offender is convicted of driving while impaired with a minor in the vehicle, they’ll risk a fine of up to $2,000 and a jail sentence not to exceed nine months.
Florida law treats driving while impaired with a minor passenger in the car with the same degree of severity as it does DUI offenses wherein a motorist has a BAC of .15 or higher.
Moving forward after a DUI charge
If you ever find yourself in a position where you’re contemplating whether you’ve had too much to drink to transport a minor in your vehicle, the answer is that you’ve had too much to drink.
Even if you’re “feeling borderline,” the risk is one that simply isn’t worth taking. Due to the potential consequences imposed on anyone who has been convicted of a DUI with a minor passenger, you should ideally never drive a minor anywhere after you’ve had anything to drink at all.
With that being said, if you are already facing charges, there may be ways to mitigate the likelihood that you’ll face severe consequences as a result of your situation. Seeking legal guidance as soon as possible will help to ensure that your case is resolved as favorably as possible under the circumstances.