Reckless driving is illegal, and you can be cited for it. However, people sometimes question what specific actions can get them charged with reckless driving. This is different from one state to the next.
In Florida, this charge involves driving in such a way that the police officers believe is showing a “willful or wanton disregard” for the safety of those around them. That means intentionally doing something they know to be dangerous, which is much different than making a negligent mistake.
For example, excessive speed could be seen as reckless driving. It’s true that many people will speed casually, such as going 60 miles per hour in a 55-mph zone. However, it is much different if someone is going 110 mph on the same stretch of road. They clearly know that this is a serious violation of the law and that it is dangerous to drivers and pedestrians around them, and yet they are doing so anyway.
This is just one example. The way that reckless driving is defined, the charge could be applied to numerous activities.
Fleeing the police
Under Florida law, anyone who flees from the police in a vehicle can be charged with reckless driving. It doesn’t matter exactly what maneuvers they make while trying to escape law enforcement officers. Simply doing so at all means that they can be charged with reckless driving, among other offenses.
Have you been accused of reckless driving in Florida? It’s very important to understand all of the criminal defense options at your disposal. It’s wise to seek legal guidance to protect your rights and present your case.